Who should take the FHA appraisal test?


As of January 8, 2008, HUD have announced a new rule explicitly stating the eligibility requirements regarding the FHA appraisal test. The new Final Rule states that only appraisers on the FHA Appraisal Roster are allowed to perform appraisals on properties to serve as securities on FHA loans.

Currently, to get on the FHA Appraiser Roster, an appraiser must hold state license or certificate and additionally pass the HUD FHA appraisal test on FHA appraisal methods and reporting. The new HUD rule waives the requirement to actually pass separate FHA appraisal test, as this is considered duplicative of national appraisers' certification requirements, and therefore the requirement is removed.

Now that the FHA appraisal test is no longer required, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Appraiser Roster eligible applicants should only:

  • submit application to HUD;
  • be state-certified or state-licensed appraisers with credentials complying with the Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation requirements;
  • not be listed on the General Services Administration's Suspension and Debarment List; or HUD's Credit Alert Interactive Voice Response System; or HUD's Limited Denial of Participation List.
Mortgage rates hit their lowest since 1955. Ask the home loan experts we recommend Quicken Loans how to take advantage of them.
Was this Mortgage QnA helpful?
Not at all
  • Currently 3/5 Stars
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Add to this Answer

Mortgage QnA is not a common forum. We have special rules:

  • Post no questions here. To ask a question, click the Ask a Question link
  • We will not publish answers that include any form of advertising
  • Add your answer only if it will contrubute to the quality of this Mortgage QnA and help future readers
If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code. Verification Code Above:
Bookmark and share this QnA: